Switching to Spark Mail because of an SMTP error


Screen Shot 2017-06-29 at 10.00.24 PM

I’ve been using my new MacBook Pro and everything has been going pretty good except for sending out email.  Apple claims that everything just works but for some reason Mail is not working right out of the box.  I’ve tried looking for advanced settings to set some specific ports and encryption but those settings seems to have disappeared with macOS Sierra.  There have been a few times in which I’ve wanted to send out mail and it says that my SMTP server can’t be contacted. I’ve done diagnostics, I’ve done verbose diagnostics and I can’t figure out why its not working.  I think it has something to do with the 2 factor authentication with Gmail and Hotmail thats causing the issue.  I’m too lazy to try and figure it out because it should just WORK!

I’ve gone ahead and downloaded Spark Mail on my MacBook again.  I have the app for my iPhone and iPad and I haven’t had any major problems with it.  I can do a unified inbox and I can create smart folders as well to catch all of my unread mail.  The thing thats great?  It just WORKS!  There are some things that I’m going to miss like seeing the inline pictures in my message (I can live without that) when I create it and the integration throughout the OS.  The interface for Spark Mail isn’t bad, at least its familiar like my iOS devices but the one limitation is that it doesn’t have real time updates to my mail account.  I kind of have to wait a few minutes before everything updates.  It’s probably because there is some caching involved at the Readdle server side.

I’ve gone ahead and pinned this to my task bar on my Mac and turned off all the notifications for the default Mail app.  I hope they fix this in MacOS High Sierra so that I can delete yet another app on my Mac.  I don’t want to clutter it with a ton of apps that I’m not going to use. One example is me not installing Flash for Safari.  I am fine with not installing it since I’m not missing much. I do however refuse to install Chrome again since its such a memory hog.

Leave a comment