Hertz Presidents Circle – Only Good for Points


If my recent experienes with Hertz is any example of how Presidents Circle members are treated, then the only good thing about having that high status are the points.  The points bonuses aren’t even that good most of the time.  I would say more than 50% of the time, I don’t get to walk to the Presidents Circle area to get a car.  Two weeks in a row I was supposed to rent a car that had over 50K miles.  This week I asked to get another car and that one smelled a little like cigarettes.

The overall quality of what cars I’m assigned has been steadily going down.  That might be attributed to me renting from La Guardia.  NY cars tend to get the shit kicked out of them but thats really not a good excuse since the cars are supposed to be washed and serviced before they’re given out.  Chicago was much better at giving good cars out but I also took a lot of cars from Gold Choice because my assigned car was garbage.

Avis seems to have better cars overall and a better experience, the only thing that brings me back all the time is the points and the fact I can use them during the week instead of just on the weekends.  Either way I have to stay with Hertz, I’ve accumulated too many points already to stop now.  I’ve used my points successfully to get a 2 week rental this year and I can see when I would need another rental soon while on vacation or something.  Come on Hertz, time to step up your game and give your most frequent renters some awesome cars!

Leave a comment