High tech gated community access


It looks like my community is going high tech for access with these new gate passes for our cars.  A year or so ago the old gate system was struck by lightning and our gate passes wouldn’t work anymore.  The gate guard needed us to wave our black box passes at them to show we lived in the community and then they would open the gate.  Not terribly high tech or efficient but it worked.  The old passes were normally stuck to the windshield like an EZPass or SunPass but they were transferable between cars.

The new system kind of permanently marks your car since it’s an RFID tag stuck to the headlight.  No more giving out your pass to others or not registering with the community.  Now they are taking better control of who can go in and out of the community easily.  I’m ok with this approach since it would be nice to know that people getting through the owner entrance is really an owner.  I even got one for my motorcycle and it fit in the corner of my windshield nicely.  What this forces the owners to do is pay their home association dues because the passes can now be turned off remotely.  Kind of slick really.  There was this crazy budget item for missing HOA fees so this should make that shrink.

What I’m not a fan of is sticking the thing on my headlight.  On my Accord it doesn’t look nice being there but here isn’t anything I can do about it.  If I want to live in my community I just have to accept some things like putting RFID’s on my car.  I’m actually eager to try out the new pass on my motorcycle.  They put it in a spot where it won’t look fugly but also won’t block my view of the road.  If it works as intended I won’t have to try weaving around the automatic gate to get home.  That would be a major improvement!

I’m curious to see what other neat technological tricks my community has up its sleeve.

Leave a Reply

