Amazon Prime Video needs Chromecast Support


amazon-prime-instant-video-e1398282925859

I have a Chromecast that I bring with me on the road and I can stream almost anything that I want except for shows on Amazon Prime.  There are a couple of shows that I like watching off Amazon but I can’t see them unless I’m using my iPad or if I bring my older Apple TV 2 with me instead.   While thats really not that big of a deal, being able to bring a smaller device like the Chromecast is easier.  I know Amazon is trying to push their Fire stick but I don’t know that many people that own it since its so tied to Amazon.  At least with the Chromecast and the Apple TV, theres a little more flexibility but the major thing missing is Amazon Prime Video.

I know of a way to stream it to Chromecast but it requires buying an app for my iPhone and I’m not in the mood to spend the money just for something I use on occasion.  Right now I’m using a Chromecast for the downstairs TV and I can cast a Chrome tab from my desktop but thats not really that efficient.  I’m not using the desktop computer all that much anymore and my work computer doesn’t really support casting tabs and I don’t want to cast Amazon Prime from my work computer anyway.  Work knows enough about me already, they don’t need to know more.

I don’t think that Amazon will give me Chromecast support any time soon, I’ll just have to use an around about approach for the time being.  Maybe the Fire Stick will be a bomb (kind of like a Fire Phone) and they’ll start to support other devices but thats not likely given that the price of Amazon’s stock is sky rocketing so there is plenty of cash to push their devices even at a  loss.  Maybe I’ll break down and buy the app that I found, but I definitely won’t be breaking down and buying an Android tablet or phone.  Thats just too much money and I’m already invested in the Apple ecosystem too much to change now.  It would be interesting if they actually came out with an Amazon computer to compete with Apple and Microsoft.  Amazon owns the cloud, I don’t think its too far fetched for them to try at some point.

Time to watch some movies using Xfinity service, its pretty cool that I can watch TV and movies using the Xfinity app, I just need a way to stream it to a Chromecast or an Apple TV but watching it on the iPad really isn’t that bad.

Leave a Reply

