Xfinity X1 upgrade at home


My community recently upgraded to Xfinity X1 and man is it sweet.  I was pretty much stuck in the analog age up until this past December.  Even though my TV’s used digital cable from Comcast, I didn’t actually have any HD channels so my shows weren’t as sharp or things on the screen were cut off.  I guess they recently negotiated a better package for us so that meant HD awesomeness for me!

Another benefit that was realized was 25mbps internet was now free too!  I was being killed by Comcast to the tune of $56 a month for the same service and now it was included with my association fees, talk about cost savings goodness.  Another new benefit is that I now have HBO!  I was able to binge watch all of Westworld off the Xfinity TV app and set up some shows for recording.  Oh that’s right, I have a DVR again!  It’s so awesome since I can record and watch shows while on the road.  This has allowed me to keep up with my TV shows that I would have normally missed during the week.

At the same time I went ahead and signed up for VoIP through Comcast.  I was able to save another $14 a month by doing that while getting the ability to see who’s calling on my TV and my cell phone.  Xfinity Connect isn’t working on my phone where I can listen to voicemail or make calls from my iPhone with it looking like I’m calling or answering from home.  That solves a problem I had in that the gate guard couldn’t reach me half the time since we get so much trash through the land line.  Now I have caller ID so we can easily make the decision to answer or not.

This upgrade has been pretty awesome, I like being able to do a lot more when away from home for work and I can give out my home phone number instead of my cell or my Google Voice number.  Now if only that damn Xfinity Connect app would work correctly, then everything would be perfect!

Leave a Reply

