Upgrading to macOS Sierra


macOS Sierra is upon us and I decided to upgrade my 2011 MacBook Pro to the new operating system.  My computer is pretty old by most accounts.  I can’t take advantage of cool things such as AirDrop (they introduced that as a major feature in 2012) but my Mac is still getting the job done especially after doing the SSD upgrade.

I originally bought my Mac with OSX Snow Leopard but quickly went to Lion.  After that was Mountain Lion, Mavericks, Yosemite, El Capitan, and now Sierra.  My Mac has been upgraded a lot at least from an OS perspective, and the iterations have been pretty decent overall.  The biggest change that I see with this version of macOS is the inclusion of Siri.  I’ve tried Siri for a couple of things but not extensively, I originally had some issues with using Siri because my VPN was getting in the way, but an upgrade to the VPN client fixed that issue and everything seems to be running smoothly again.

There was this little bit of annoyance when I first installed the new OS, the fan on my Mac would run constantly and I couldn’t understand why.  I did some searching on the internet and I did an SMC reset and that might have fixed the problem.  I also looked at the Activity Monitor and found that the Photo’s app was doing a lot of work in the background, I think its because it was trying to find faces, create memories, and generally upgrade the library with all the new features that came with the OS.

After about a day of letting it run, all seems well.  At some point I think I won’t be able to upgrade my Mac anymore with a new OS but I’m hoping that will be a few more years off.  I don’t really need another computer, I don’t use my computer for much anymore except surfing the web but I still need lots of storage and ports for things like my iPhones, iPads, and GoPro.  I’ll do more searching around and see what other things macOS Sierra has to offer beyond the basics.

Leave a Reply

