Desktop Computers = Insane amount of cables


I guess I’ll different type of rant today.  I must be one of the small amount of people that own a desktop computer at home.  As you can see in the picture it’s s tower that lives under the desk because simply there are too many cables.  This picture actually doesn’t show the full extent of insanity going on here, there’s more stuff behind the tower and try as I might I just can’t get all that stuff neat.  I gave it a good attempt last weekend when I was home, I’ve added and subtracted stuff over the 9 year life span of my desktops the never looked at re-doing the cables.  You can see my meager attempt in this picture to at least bring some order to the overall chaos.  Just to give you a better sense of what’s connected to this thing here’s a basic rundown:

  • Monitor (duh need that to see)
  • 2.1 speaker system
  • Router x2 (One my routers is flakey so I have a backup connected)
  • Web cam (I don’t even use this thing half the time)
  • Multifunction printer
  • External DVD burner
  • External hard drive

All that stuff have different cable lengths and potentially their own power supply so they have almost 2 wires for everything.  That’s just a fire hazard waiting to happen I bet but I’ve done all I can to make sure that doesn’t happen.  When this thing dies (although I think it will last another 4-5 years if I put in an SSD in place of the hard drive), I am going to try and replace it with a laptop or something.  I need more portability although the external monitor is nice for when I’m at home.  There really isn’t anything else I can do about it now except maybe unplug some things but I don’t see how that’s going to help me overall anyway.

I am eyeing the new MacBook Pro’s when they come out but first the old desktop has to die in some way, and I mean like really really kick the bucket without hope of recovery.  I’m still too good at reviving old computers with some cheap parts that it’s entirely possible this thing will be 20 years old running Windows 10 before I can finally toss it in the trash heap.  That kind of reminds me though, I should really do a backup of the primary drive just in case I need to recover it.

Leave a Reply

