I got a GoPro Hero 4 Session


  
I recently got a GoPro for myself by burning some of my Amex points.  I had quite a few points that I’ve built up so I decided why not, it might be fun having this thing.  I really bought it for my snowboarding trip that I’m going to take in March.  It will be the first time for my entire family to go snowboarding and capturing it on video seemed appealing.  I looked into some different solutions with my iPhone but most of them were a little risky and iPhones and snow don’t mix well if you wipe out.

I bought the Hero 4 Session because it’s really small and it’s already water proof!  It can last about 2 hours per charge but I don’t intend to take that much video in a single shot.  That would require lots of cutting and editing on my part.  I might take a laptop with me so I can dump the footage to a memory stick and then edit it when I get home.

So far I’ve used the GoPro only a handful of times.  Mostly to take video of my daughter playing soccer or doing Kung fu.  I bought this plastic thing that you can hold that also converts into a stand.  The stand part is awesome, it allows the camera to be stationary and take video while I do other stuff.  I hooked the camera up to my iPhone and that took a while to get just right but I think I got it to work now.  I haven’t tried dumping video to my iPhone from the camera but maybe I should do that before my trip which might save me from bringing the laptop.

I recently got some new accessories that I’m waiting to be delivered.  The centerpiece is the chest mount which is what I’ll probably end up using the most. I have a head mount but that seems cheesy and it wouldn’t fit on my motorcycle helmet anyway.  I think the chest mount will be more stable and it won’t hurt my head if I fall or something.  I’m really excited to get the chest mount so I can use it on motorcycle rides.  There are plenty of times that I’ve ridden my bike and wanted to take a photo or video but you just can’t while on the go, this should solve the problem without having to stick a mounting point directly on my bike.

Once I get a decent video of me riding on a motorcycle, I’ll post that bad boy up on YouTube.  So awesome can’t wait to do this!

Leave a Reply

