Changing up the cover for my iPad Mini


Last year I bought a iPad Mini with Retina display to replace my iPad 2 that I had been using since its release. The reasons for doing this were numerous but the biggest reasons was the size and internal space. As with any new device that I buy, I had to protect it somehow and at the time I decided to go with the black iPad Mini case offered by Apple so it would give my iPad Mini full protection all around. I used the case for about a year and I couldn’t find a lot to not like about it but the one thing that did kind of bother me was that I couldn’t easily remove the cover without leaving the entire device naked.

That gave me an idea for what to ask for for Christmas this year. I decided to go back in time a little bit and change what I used for protecting my iPad Mini. I would forego some of the full protection I had with the case and instead go with a Smart Cover like I did with my iPad 2. There have been a few improvements with the smart cover (the magnets don’t damage the case of the iPad for instance) and they had more colors available. I decided to go with a Project Red case so it stands out and so I can find it easier in the dark. To protect the back I got a Dodocase Book Back, again I had one of these for my iPad 2 and worked really well back then so I figured this time around should be no different.

What this does is that it makes the iPad pretty much its true size again since it lost some of the bulk it gained with the Apple Case. I can now remove the cover which was one of my little peeves with the case as well but the trade off is that now the sides are exposed so there is the potential that I could damage it easier or even crack the screen if I dropped it. While not ideal, I think the new benefits outweighs the risks. I now use this configuration even when traveling since it stays in my back pack most of the time during work and only comes out when I get to surf the internet at my hotel.

Leave a Reply

