Computers are still FASTER….. for some things


I’ve been trying to stop using a computer (not a computing device) for a lot of my day to day activities. Obviously for work I still need to use a computer but for my personal life I’ve been trying to get away from having to power one on. However there are just too many things that a computer can do that a tablet or smartphone can’t yet. I won’t list what all those things are but I’ll provide some examples that are relevant to me.

1) Editing Documents
I have Google Drive, Documents to Go, and Notability to take notes or edit documents on my phone or iPad. While the virtual keyboard is fine, it still doesn’t beat the old keyboard and mouse combo of my MacBook Pro or my Windows Desktop PC for sheer speed of just getting things done when it comes to heavy manipulation of “stuff”. Granted there isn’t a lot in my personal that requires me to do calculations or lookups in Excel but it’s still way easier and faster on a computer.

2) Storage of my junk
I’ll finally admit that I am a digital pack rat. I still have copies of stuff that I wrote in high school on my computer that I have transferred from computer to computer. I also have thousands of pictures that I have never uploaded to some photo site because it would just kill the bandwidth at home and then how would I watch Netflix? There is also all the videos I’ve collected that eats room and being able to edit those videos take power and precision that I don’t have on my tablet.

3) Multi-Tasking
The Android lovers will probably grin at this one but I do enjoy multi tasking. It’s not unusual for me to be using two computers at once and switching between them. Some would say I must need multiple monitors or something but I like doing certain tasks on certain computers and then the are things that I like doing on my tablet like reading that I don’t want to do on my computers at all.

I could almost put typing but I’m pretty good at using a tablet for creating simple things and the auto correct is actually decent on my iPad but there’s nothing like a good old fashioned keyboard some days. Tablets are catching up and I am definitely thinking of an upgrade soon to perhaps an iPad mini when it comes out in the fall, but I don’t expect to be computer free anytime soon. Besides what will my daughter learn to code on if I take away the computers?

Leave a Reply

