Loving My DVD Player in the Odyssey


I’ve come to have a new appreciation for I car DVD systems. When I purchased the new family Odyssey one of the features that I wanted was to have a DVD system for those really long car rides because the little one needs to have some entertainment. I recently turned the car seat around so now my daughter can face forward and see something other than the rear seat headrest. I’ve put a couple of her DVD’s in the car so that she can watch while we drive. I have to admit that this is way easier than having my wife holding up her iPad so that she can be entertained on long trips.

In addition to having the DVD system, we also have some headphones that link directly to the system so that I can still listen to my music while my daughter can listen to her DVD. Unfortunately my daughter doesn’t like having things on her head so I haven’t been able to listen to music while she watches her shows. It’s kind of weird to listen to a DVD and not be able to watch it. The screen in the front which has my GPS can only show my maps and not what’s in the DVD player. I suppose that’s a safety thing but if my wife ever sits in front with me she won’t be able to watch either.

What I want to try is the HDMI input in the third row. The screen for the DVD player can be split screen so I can watch two things at once. I don’t have the HDMI adapter for my iPad yet but if I can I intend to get one so that I can test out the split screen. I think I will fully test the DVD player sometime in May. I think a trip to Orlando is in order and my daughter should like it this time since it will be much warmer than the other times we’ve gone. If you are a parent, get a car with a DVD player, it will save your sanity.

Leave a Reply

