ITIL RCV Passed!


Today I passed my test so I can say I’m certified in ITIL Release, Control, and Validation. All last week I was in class so that I cold get enough hours so I could take my test today. Truthfully I could have taken the test on Friday afternoon but I wanted a little extra time to study. I am slowly but surely going towards getting my ITIL Expert certification but I don’t intend to try and get it this year. Along with my certification I get credits at work. I need to have a certain number of credits on a rolling 3 year basis and ITIL training is a good way to generate those credits.

I think I’m about 2 classes away from being able to sit for the final class before achieving ITIL Expert. There are two ways to get to Expert but I’ve been taking classes here and there so my route to Expert is a little unorthodox. No matter it fills up credit hours which is my primary goal.

The test this time around seemed harder than Service Design which I took a few weeks ago but at least this time I was able to pass it the first time around. I think I’ve hit upon a decent strategy for passing these things which is a combination of not waiting too long to take the test and also doing some intense studying so I memorize the material. As it happens there are always those little things that they decide to test you on that I don’t study and they always seem to ask those questions on the test. Needless to say for RCV I didn’t do as well as I was hoping but a pass is a pass and I have my certification.

I’ll be taking a break until next fall to take more classes in ITIL. What I really want most is to be able to get my Certified IT Asset Manager certification. I’ve been doing IT Asset Management since I started working and I happen to be pretty good at it so I might as well try and get certified in it. Although in the past I’ve struggled passing tests on topics where I have a lot of knowledge since my personal experiences get in the way of what the “book” answer is. But that’s for me to tackle next year. Unless something required comes up I’m not taking anymore optional training. My brain is full of stuff I may or may not use in the next year and I need the space in my head to fill it with family memories instead.

Leave a Reply

