Passed my ITIL Service Design Test


This past Friday I finally passed my ITIL Service Design Intermediate test. In my current role, getting this certification is pretty important since it puts me on the path to get an ITIL Expert Certification. The only crummy part about getting the certification is that I was able to pass it on my second attempt. The test is only 8 multiple choice questions but they are situation based and try and test your knowledge across multiple areas that are presented during the training. The training itself wasn’t that bad. I took distance learning which meant I could do it from the comfort of my own home which is nice.

Based on past experience I attempted to take the test right after the class but that was not the best strategy. Although this was the complete opposite of my past strategy which was to wait a month before taking the test. I came very close to passing the first time, missed it by only 2 points, but I was still pissed that I was so close. I ended up paying for another test which kind of sucked but I was determined to pass this time. I had to study for the next week trying to remember all the stuff that I learned in class. My iPad came in very handy during this time. I decided to try doing daily mind dumps using Notability. I’d say this definitely helped me remember most of the concepts that I learned. It was also cool that the extra materials I got from class I was able to view using my Box.net app.

The second attempt at passing was much better after doing a lot more studying. I’ll have to take a few more of these classes and tests before getting an ITIL Expert certification but at least now I know what I personally have to do in order to pass the next test.

Leave a Reply

