YouTube Mini Series Are Awesome


I’ve never been a real YouTube junkie since I’m not a big fan of self created vids. I like the pro stuff which is why I’ve gravitated to Netflix and I also watch regular TV (although the only thing I can find of interest these days are cartoons). Recently I’ve discovered that some big names like Halo and Battlestar Galactica have some original content being posted weekly. I’ve watched some of these shows and I’m quite impressed with what I’ve seen so far.

I first started watching Forward Unto Dawn which is a mini series about the Halo universe and was created as back story for one of the non-playable characters in the new Halo game. This one was a live action mini series that lasted 5 episodes of 20 minutes each. It even had the Master Chief in some of the episodes which I found quite cool. I liked having some of the back story for the new game. I have most of the books as well that give even more back story but being able to see it was pretty neat. Unfortunately there won’t be anymore Forward Unto Dawn episodes but maybe they will make more Halo vids.

Just when I thought Battlestar Galactica was over, YouTube comes out with Blood and Chrome which is being done by Syfy who aired the remake of Battlestar Galactica. This is a prequel series that follows William Adama as a young pilot. Apparently this takes place after the other BSG series that Syfy created that didn’t quite catch on. I think if they made that other BSG series was aired on YouTube it might have gotten a better reception and it might still be on. I’ve already watched 6 episodes of the series and it’s pretty damn good. I especially like that there aren’t any commercials in the middle of the episodes to get in the way. Sometimes there are ads in the beginning or the end, kind of like how Europe does their advertising, and I gotta say that I like it way better that way. Although it does get in the way of potty and snack breaks.

I think YouTube is on to something here regarding original content. It’s like that one original series that Netflix did but then they just kind of stopped doing it. I’ll be cruising more YouTube in the future, maybe there are other little nuggets of video I can consume for free that will spark my interest.

Leave a Reply

