Looking for a smaller tablet


The tablet wars a definitely heating up this year with some strong contenders in the form of Amazon and Google coming out with some great tablets in the form of the Kindle Fire and the Nexus 7. I’m already an owner of the iPad 1 and iPad 2 and I don’t regret either purchase. The next tablet purchase actually isn’t for me, it’s more for my wife. Recently my wife has really gotten into reading ebooks but she doesn’t like my iPads because they’re too heavy and too big for her to use while she reads in bed. I can sympathize with this because I don’t read in bed much either with my iPad 2. My wife mostly reads her books on her iPhone but she has recently said that it would be nice to have a bigger screen to read her books but not be as big as an iPad. In addition to the iPads, we have a Kindle 3 that I bought for my wife a year or so ago that she used to use but since you need a light to read the e-ink screen she doesn’t use it as much as she used to.

Enter my new dilemma. There are going to be 3 tablets for me to consider (well possibly 3) for the fall or the Christmas season at the latest and this new tablet wouldn’t be for me but for my wife to read books. From what I hear the two “new” tablets that might be coming out that I’m going to have to consider will be the Amazon Kindle Fire 2 or an iPad Mini. I almost know for a certainty that the Amazon Kindle Fire 2 is a certainty but it’s all a matter of what version of the software is on the Kindle Fire and what it will being to the table. I’m partial to the a Kindle Fire since a lot of the books that we buy and read use the Kindle app. What concerns me the most is upgradeability of the new Fire a d how long it will be usable beyond a year. Right now the iPad Mini is just a rumor and I don’t even know if this will be a reality. What is intriguing is if this becomes a reality. I am pretty heavily invested into the Apple ecosystem right now with the iPhones and iPads that I have currently. I an iPad Mini became a reality I could use all of my apps on it that I have already purchased over the last 3 years.

My current front runner is the Google Nexus 7 that was just released. While I am not the biggest fan of Android devices given my previous experience with them, I have to admit that the Nexus 7 definitely fits the bill. Right now it’s at a decent price point and delivers everything I want in a tablet, it has different ebook apps which I need including the Kindle app. It has the right form factor that I’m looking for, but the only thing it might not have is the familiarity that my wife will probably want since she has been an iPhone user for so long now. I think I can wait a couple more months to see what Apple decides to release to market regarding a new iPhone and a possible iPad Mini. If the Kindle Fire 2 is really cheap, and I mean cheaper than anything from Apple and Google, then I might get that. Right now only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

