Cameras cameras everywhere


I will admit that I have a lot of cameras. This was totally by accident though since I never really intended to have so many cameras in my household. I guess we’ll start with the point and shoots. I still have an old 3 megapixel Sony camera that I bought almost 9 years ago that I don’t use anymore but I still think it works. I would just have to charge it up. I used to use it extensively on vacation because back then I didn’t have a camera on my cell phone. The next camera is my wife’s camera which is a Canon Powershot which I think is a 5 megapixel. I currently can’t find this camera nor can I find the charger but this camera served us pretty well over the years and was our primary camera until I bought my Olympus. Well my wife bought me the Olympus. This camera was awesome since it was water proof so I could take pictures while swimming in the ocean and stuff. Recently this camera has been having some problems which necessitated an upgrade which is my current travel camera.

I’m currently traveling around with my Panasonic point and shoot that is like my Olympus which means its indestructible kinda sorta. My friend recommended this camera to me because it had a Leica lens to get some awesome pictures. I’ve used this camera for the past year but I’ve found that while it’s great for travel because I take pics of stationary things like touristy crap or scenes, it’s not that great for taking pics of the baby since she wiggles around too much.

Since I now have a little daughter that enjoys wiggling around a lot and not sitting still for pics, I decided to get my wife a nice DSLR camera. I have to admit that this is the first DSLR I’ve ever owned and so far it’s been great. My wife had a regular SLR I’m college so she knows how to shoot a camera really well. I thought that since I won’t be home a lot of the time to help take pics with the point and shoot that is a bit slow, the DSLR was just the ticket to take pics of the baby for stuff like our recent Christmas cards. The speed on the DSLR is impressive to say the least. The only down side is the bulk but I will be taking this up north with me to take pics during the holidays. I don’t know if I’m going to take it with me for all my vacations but there is a good chance that I will, especially if I go on tour groups and stuff like that. I’ll totally look like a tourist but that’s ok, as long as I don’t get mugged or something I will be fine.

Thats a whole lot of cameras by my count and that doesn’t include the cameras on my iPhone 4S. By far that is the camera that my wife and I use the most because it’s just there in our pockets and now that it’s eight megapixels the pictures are better than ever. I just need to find a way to automatically sync both iPhone photo libraries with the MacBook and all will be right in the world.

I’m hoping that the DSLR will be my last camera purchase for a while. I mean true camera purchase which does not include cell phone cameras. I think that I can just upgrade the DSLR with some better lenses since I’m fine with its speed and it’s overall quality. My friend recently gave me a book on how to take some really great pics and now I know what new equipment I have to get (tripod, shutter remote, lenses, flash). Maybe those will make some good gift ideas over the next few years.

Leave a Reply

