iOS or Android for Work hmmmm…..


It’s been almost a year since I’ve been back at work at my old company and surprisingly I’m eligible for a phone upgrade. I currently use a myTouch 4G for work and it’s running android and for my personal phone I’m running an iPhone 4S. Now that my upgrade is almost due, I have some hard decisions to make. Do I continue with tmobile and get an upgrade every year or do I go with AT&T or Verizon and wait two years for my upgrade. So far I’m a little torn since I’m not exactly all that thrilled with tmobile service but on the other hand do I really care about the service since its my work phone?

I’m also wondering if I should get another iPhone (this time in white so I can tell the difference between the phones) or if I should try and get another android phone that’s using ice cream sandwich (I know, the names of the OS releases are kind of silly). Currently tmobile doesn’t have a phone that runs ice cream sandwich at the moment, I think it might come out soon but I don’t know though. I’m pretty careful about what I do on my work phone, I don’t put any apps and stuff on it really and keep it pretty plain because I have my iPhone to use for all my fun stuff or I whip out the iPad instead. The biggest reason people state to get android is to root the thing but I can’t do that because then I can’t get my work email. I don’t know if I particularly want a huge phone either, the myTouch seems to be just about right, these other phones with the huge screen seem like overkill. Whatever happened to making smaller and smaller phones that were easy to carry around? I remember buying a Motorola StarTac because it was smaller than my original cell phone.

The thing that really holds me back is the upgrade schedule. I don’t know if I want to wait two years to upgrade my phone. On the other hand it would be pretty cool to have another iPhone that I can use for work and load all the apps that I’ve already purchased. I guess I’ll have to see what’s offered by tmobile in the month of February. I don’t think they’ll offer the iPhone but there might be an android device that’s worth getting to replace the myTouch.

Leave a Reply

