Switching to Google Calendar


Over the past few months I have come to rely more and more on my Google Calendar than the calendar that is on my computer.  In the good old days of using my Handspring, Treo 650, 700P, and even my Treo Pro I used to only use my local calendar on my computer.  Mostly I did this because I was paranoid about putting my stuff in the cloud, and for another there wasn’t exchange access with Google yet or I had to choose if I wanted to use my Google or work account on my phone.   I have started to migrate slowly to using Google Calendar almost exclusively to put in appointments and such in to my calendar.  With my current work situation, I can’t mirror my work appointments and only have my personal ones in there but that seems to be ok for now.  I’m using Google Calendar Sync to keep my personal computer synced with Google Calendar which is probably why I switched.  I currently only use my PC as my backup to my online life.  All my pictures that I post or calendar entries I have are backed up safe and sound and those are even backed up twice more since I’m paranoid about data security and retention.

One of the great things that I like about using Google Calendar is that I can see my wife’s calendar too when she has appointments the both of us need to go to.  I’m sure this is going to come in real handy when the munchkin is born and I have to go to soccer games, parent/teacher conferences, etc.  I’m hoping that they continue to improve Google Calendar, I would like to be able to edit the calendar in Outlook but for right now I can see it as read only.  That doesn’t bother me since I can make edits in Outlook and have it sync to Google Calendar.  I’ll admit the outage of Amazon scared me because so many people rely on cloud services these days but I feel better about it since I back everything up to my PC anyway.

The real advantage of using Google Calendar for me right now is that I can see it on my iDevices and my work phone so I’m always in sync with my personal life.  Not so much my work life but at least my personal life is easy to keep track of no matter what device I’m using.

Leave a Reply

