Talking and surfing matter


I’ve come to realize that for me, talking and surfing the web on my phone is pretty essential. There is so much stuff that I look up on the web while on the phone because the people that I talk to need information or at the very least I need information so I know what they’re talking about. The AT&T commercials are true in that regard that being able to do both is a huge advantage.

I learned this past week while I was in NY that my tmobile mytouch 4g doesn’t have this ability to talk and tether. I don’t use the phone that much to surf the Internet since I have most of what I need on my iPhone and I always carry both phones anyway. What I was trying to do was to tether the phone (which it is advertised to do) and talk on a conference call at the same time. I found out that I could only do one or the other which is really limiting. I jailbreak my iPhone so I have tethering with that and I have never had that problem before. I think it’s rather annoying not being able to do both talk and surf at once. There are a lot of apps that rely on having an Internet connection (Evernote comes to mind) that won’t work if you’re chatting on the phone. I guess it could also be seen as rude if the person on the other line knows you’re surfing the web and ignoring them when you should be having a meaningful conversation.

I guess I’m going to have to wait for AT&T to release the next iPhone. While I’m ok with the tmobile network, I’m still not a big fain of android at the moment. I’ll give it more time but I don’t think my opinion will change even if they pushed Honeycomb to my work phone. I would take a few things from Android and drop it into my iPhone like notifications and I like how the webOS has multi-tasking with cards. I can do most of this using jailbreak but I’m trying to limit what I do in that space.

Leave a Reply

