iOS 4.2.1 for Apple TV is eh


This past week while I was at home, I was able to upgrade my Apple TV to iOS 4.2.1 or whatever version they’re up to now but I’ve been holding off on updating any of my other stuff (iPhones and iPad) until the jailbreak is out that doesn’t require tethering.  I don’t know what was updated on the Apple TV but I do know that my Netflix streaming experience hasn’t been the same since the update.  Most of what I try and watch on Netflix seems to work just fine except for some TV shows where the episode won’t stream.  I think everyone is getting on the new Netflix streaming service and its bogging things down too.  I’m hoping that the problem is on the Netflix end and not the Apple TV end since I can stream things just fine when I’m using my iPad or my computer.  I don’t see any improvements anywhere else really but I’m looking forward to seeing some apps and maybe a web browser in the near future.

Apple TV is shaping up to be pretty cool but it just needs more functionality on the software end for it to be a must have product.  I think most of the functionality that people are raving about will come when I finally upgrade my own iOS devices to 4.2.1 so I can stream things to my Apple TV.  I’ve been looking at the Roku player as well just in case I need something else to stream content to my house but I haven’t gotten that far yet.  What I really need is a T3 line into my house so that I can get faster internet downloads and what not for when I stream content.

Once Apple TV gets on par with what a Google TV box can do (well mostly in terms of streaming services, apps, and search) I think it will be a totally awesome device that everyone will want to have especially if it is coupled with an iPhone, iPod Touch, or iPad.  Here’s waiting for the next update!

Leave a Reply

