Hybrid cars suck


Last week I had the opportunity to drive a co-workers Toyota Camry hybrid and I can say that the experience was…… lacking. I know it’s environmentally friendly and all that good stuff but the driving experience just sucks! I drove a Prius before a cowpoke of years ago and I thought that experience was weird but I attributed that to it being a Prius. I thought that the Camry would be different since it was adapted from a regular car. Nope WRONG! The car drives ok but there is no power in the thing. I step on the gas and it kicks in kind of late with the power. The acceleration is Wally bad, but that might be due to the under powered engine and the extra weight of the battery.

This week I’m driving a regular Camry and the experience is way better than the hybrid. I also noticed that a lot of the trunk room was used up for the battery pack on the hybrid. It looks like I won’t be getting a hybrid any time soon until it drives more like a regular gas only car. It needs the get up and go of a gas car and needs more horsepower to get up to speed in a short amount of time. Maybe I’m just spoiled but that’s just my opinion. Now I just need to save for the next 8 years so I can get my mid life crisis German sports car.

Leave a Reply

