5th Year Anniversary = Wood!


My wife and I have a tradition to try and follow the different anniversary gifts prescribed for each year.  This year it was wood for both the traditional and modern gift.  Finding a wood gift for your wife is actually pretty difficult.  There is cooking ware, trinkets for the house, maybe even wind chimes.  However, this year we decided to do something a little different.  We always get each other gifts where the traditional or modern gift listed is just a piece of the over all gift.  Hence, the gifts we gave each other this time around were skateboards.

Most people would consider this a pretty strange gift, however skateboards are made of wood so…. The picture in this post shows the skateboards that we gave each other.  Mine is the one with the smiling flame on it made by World Industries.  The other skateboard is a custom board that I built for my wife by scrounging the internet for different parts.  The deck I’m particularly proud of, its a limited edition Tokidoki deck that has been discontinued but I knew no other Tokidoki deck would do.  I’m still working out some kinks in my wife’s skateboard but I hope to get those resolved pretty soon.  I used some of my past knowledge to build the board.  I gave her Gullwing trucks, Bones Red Bearings, and Emoji 53 wheels.  I bought most of this stuff from warehouseskateboards.com which is a great resource for anyone that wants to buy a pre-built board or to get some parts.   My skateboard that my wife gave me is totally awesome.  It reminds me of the good old days of when I used to ride skateboards up and down my street growing up.  I haven’t used it outside yet but I have been using it in my living room.  Thats right, I skateboard in my own home and I can do it to because its my house!

Now I just have to start looking for my wife’s birthday gift since her birthday is coming up in a couple of months.  In the mean time, I’ll start to work out more kinks from her gift so that it rides correctly and I’ll continue to ride my skateboard in the house.  My other gift is my helicopter which I seem to break on a daily basis but that might be for another blog post.

One thought on “5th Year Anniversary = Wood!

Leave a Reply

