More iPhone woes!


It would appear that my ordeal with my iPhone is still continuing and its frustrating me to no end!  A couple of weeks ago my computer decided to crash and I lost all my apps and settings including my iTunes library and playlists.  That by itself sucked royally and I’m not even close to being done re-constructing everything on my computer yet but I’m getting pretty close.  But thats not whats bugging me at the present moment.  My current woe’s involve syncing my calendar at home with my iPhone.

When my computer was working well, I was able to sync my iPhone with my computer seamlessly and get my work calendar/email just fine.  After the crash things just haven’t been the same and all it does is frustrate me that syncing isn’t working like it should.  I was adding calendar entries in Outlook this weekend and was trying to sync my iPhone when I noticed none of my calendar entries were there.  The more baffling thing was that I couldn’t see my work calendar anymore either.  I use my calendar extensively and not having either of them available to me was not acceptable.

I would say I spent a good 8-10 hours trying to fix it and doing research on the internet trying to solve my problem but so far I haven’t found a decent solution so far.  I did get to a point where I can at least see my work calendar and I can make entries into my local calendar on my iPhone but thats about it.  I don’t know if any of the other information is syncing right now but I hope it is because I really need my contacts and notes too from my home computer.

What would be nice would be if Apple would come up with a more robust sync solution for those of us tech savvy enough to tinker with our phones and our computers to give us a way to get what we need done rather than trying crappy solutions that involve wiping out the phone and re-installing everything and praying it will work.  I think the best sync solution so far was the HotSync solution that Palm had for syncing with a Desktop.  The thing just worked and some 3rd party developers made it even better (Chapura comes to mind).  I need something like that!  Something that lets me pick my PST file and not just the “account” I want to sync with (I have multiple PST files for home).

I’m going to do some more digging this coming weekend since I can’t sync with my work laptop to try out my solutions but I need to get this cleared up fast.  Going to the genius bar at an Apple Store is not an option, I don’t want to drive 30 miles just to have someone tell me I need to start from scratch and to bring in my computer.  Desktops are still decently heavy and I don’t like other people touching my PC where they might look at my data.

Well thats all I have to blog about for now, other than that Thanksgiving was pretty excellent.  I was able to get in some Assassins Creed II, I might blog about that next even though I could have used the 10 hours trying to fix my phone to play my game.  Oh well, I’m hoping this won’t happen again for a good long time.

Leave a Reply

