Driving my rental tank….. the Ford Flex


Avis finally came through this week and gave me a decent rental car after two strikes.  Pictured in this post is the tank that they’ve given me to drive on the mean streets of Chicago…. the Ford Flex.  This has to be one of the cooler cars that I’ve driven to date.  Avis gave me a Limited Edition and this thing has all the bells and whistles that a person could ask for.  By far two of the coolest aspects is the remote trunk which raises and lowers the read hatch using the remote and the memory seats that move the seat backwards and forwards to make it easier to get in and out of the car.

I call this car a tank because it feels really heavy and solid going down the road.  I’m sure its got a big engine in it but its so heavy it impedes its 0-60 performance.  I feel like I’m driving my wife’s SUV when I’m driving this thing.  I think if I got into an accident I would totally crush whatever I hit.  If I wasn’t traveling so much, I might even buy this car despite it being a Ford.

Some other fun highlights with the car is that it has an aux input for my iPod, seats 7 people, has all wheel drive, and if you’re willing to spring the money in car navigation.  The one thing that my rental doesn’t have is the sun roof.  Not only does the driver have one but so do all the passengers in the back seats.  I’m hoping that Avis will come through for me next week and give me another awesome car.  If I could request this car again I would.  Booyah!

3 thoughts on “Driving my rental tank….. the Ford Flex

  1. I don’t know If I said it already but …This blog rocks! I gotta say, that I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks, 🙂

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

Leave a Reply

